Exploring the Largest Cities in Franklin County, Ohio

Are you planning a visit to the Columbus area or considering a move to the region? Whether you're taking a road trip around the area or trying to decide which city will be your new home, a great starting point is to explore the biggest cities in Franklin County. Franklin County is the most populous county in Ohio. The county seat and largest city is Columbus, the state capital and the largest city in Ohio, which takes up almost half of the total county area. The entire Franklin County region is part of the Columbus metropolitan area, with numerous suburbs, each offering something unique.

What cities are there in Franklin County, Ohio? The county is home to 16 cities, with Columbus being the biggest. The second largest city in the Midwest after Chicago, Columbus is the third largest state capital and the fourteenth largest city in the United States. With a metropolitan population of 2.14 million spread over ten counties. Dublin, Ohio, is also renowned for the Dublin Irish Festival, one of the biggest Irish events in America, recognized as the world's leading festival and event city.

Grove City ranks third among Franklin County cities by population. Just 10 miles southwest of downtown Columbus, Grove City was once known for its vast groves of maple, oak, walnut and beech trees. Most of these trees were cut down to make way for settlement, but the town of Grove City was named in 1853 due to the few remaining forests. Best known for Otterbein University, Westerville is one of the largest cities in Franklin County, Ohio.

It was once called the dry capital of the world thanks to an 1859 ordinance that prohibited the sale of alcohol, which led to the “Westerville Whiskey War”, when a businessman twice opened a bar in town, which was blown up by locals. The Westerville temperance movement was so serious that the Anti-Tavern League moved its headquarters from Washington D. C. to this small town at the beginning of the 20th century.

They eventually succeeded in ratifying the Eighteenth Amendment and ushering in Prohibition. The city of Reynoldsburg is located in Licking, Franklin, and Fairfield counties, about 12 miles east of Columbus. Fifth on the list of cities in Franklin County, Ohio by population, Reynoldsburg is one of the best suburbs for outdoor recreation. Upper Arlington, or UA, is one of the largest cities in Franklin County, Ohio and one of its most affluent ones too - ranking second after Dublin, Ohio. Upper Arlington is also one of the best-educated cities in Franklin County with an impressive 77% of residents having at least a bachelor's degree and nearly all residents having a high school diploma or GED. Upper Arlington has been ranked as one of America's best places to live by Money magazine due to its quality of life, low crime rate, vibrant art scene and great outdoor recreation opportunities.

Residents enjoy amenities such as Thompson Park and The Ohio State University Golf Club. The town of Gahanna is located in northeastern Franklin County next to Columbus, New Albany Mifflin Township and Jefferson Township. Gahanna is a thriving suburb and home to several private schools such as The Columbus Academy and its downtown has been revitalized to add new public spaces restaurants and services. Pickerington may be one of the smallest cities in Franklin County Ohio but it's an excellent place to live with family. Just 17 miles southeast of downtown Columbus Pickerington is known for its tree-lined streets very low crime rate excellent schools and historic downtown business district. Columbus not only serves as home to Franklin County but also as its county seat. Known as central business district for state capital Columbus downtown area is bustling with excitement and activities. QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties and for cities and towns with a population of 5 000 or more With FIPS code 49 Franklin County has a population 1 321 414 and an area 539 87 square miles (1 398 km²).

There are 16 cities in Franklin County Ohio along with 10 villages 17 municipalities and five census-designated places.